Readify

Black family's Great Benefit health insurance policy

The Rainmaker

The Black family's Great Benefit health insurance policy is the contract whose disputed wording turned the Blacks’ efforts to obtain treatment for Donny Ray Black into a lawsuit against Great Benefit Life Insurance Company. Bought to cover the family and maintained through regular premiums, it became both the basis of the claim and a central trial exhibit: the original policy did not specifically exclude bone marrow transplants, while a later policy did.

Purchase and Coverage

Dot Black told Rudy Baylor that she and Buddy Black had purchased the medical policy about five years earlier, when their sons were seventeen. The family had not missed a premium, she said, and had not relied on the coverage until Donny Ray became ill. The policy’s declaration page listed Donny Ray and Ronny Ray Black as dependents, with the same birth date. At trial, Great Benefit’s lawyer described it as costing eighteen dollars a week, a figure he used to frame the family’s claim as an effort to obtain a costly treatment outside the bargain.

The policy’s importance was practical as well as contractual. Donny Ray had acute leukemia, and his doctor, Dr. Walter Kord, testified that Ron Black, his identical twin, was a suitable marrow donor. Kord described transplantation as an established treatment and said that, in Donny Ray’s case, it would have worked; he estimated survival chances at 80 to 90 percent with a transplant and zero without one. The policy dispute thus concerned whether the written promise of medical coverage extended to the treatment that offered Donny Ray his chance of survival.

Conflicting Denials

The policy and the correspondence Great Benefit sent about it became a record of shifting reasons for refusing the claim. In Dot’s trial testimony, she read seven denial letters that variously relied on review by different departments, a preexisting condition, Donny Ray’s status as an adult, and the claim that bone marrow transplants were not covered or were too experimental. The stated grounds changed; the family’s need for treatment did not.

The adult-dependent rationale was directly challenged by the policy’s text. Dot testified that she had read the contract repeatedly and found no term ending coverage when a child became an adult. The preexisting-condition rationale was also disputed: Donny Ray’s leukemia had been diagnosed years after the policy was issued. The policy therefore mattered not merely as evidence that insurance existed, but as the text against which Great Benefit’s successive explanations could be tested.

The Transplant Language

At trial, Great Benefit’s attorney held up the policy and argued that it did not require the company to pay for transplants. Rudy’s response depended on the distinction between what the policy actually listed and what the defense said it meant. The Black policy excluded several major-organ transplants, including kidney, liver, heart, lungs, and eyes, but did not list bone marrow. That omission was central to the plaintiffs’ claim that marrow transplantation had not been specifically excluded.

Rudy used a later Great Benefit policy, obtained from Max Leuberg, to sharpen the comparison. The newer document expressly included bone marrow among its transplant exclusions. When a company representative acknowledged that the Black policy did not specifically exclude marrow, Rudy could argue that the later wording demonstrated how the company expressed such an exclusion when it chose to do so. The representative did not establish when the language had changed, and could not say whether the change came before or after the Black claim or lawsuit. The comparison was therefore powerful but did not, by itself, settle the chronology of the revision.

From Contract to Trial Evidence

The policy was introduced early in the trial as the document around which the competing accounts were built. Great Benefit presented its weekly cost and the alleged absence of transplant coverage as reasons the family was not entitled to the payment it sought. The Black family’s case placed the contract beside the denial letters, the medical evidence, and testimony about the treatment Donny Ray had been unable to receive. Together, these materials made the dispute about more than a single phrase: the jurors were asked to decide whether the company’s interpretation matched the document it had sold and the reasons it later gave for refusing the claim.

The policy also gave the medical testimony a precise legal stake. Dr. Kord explained that transplant treatment was available in August 1991 and that Ron Black was a suitable donor. His account connected the missing treatment to the coverage question, while the contract’s wording determined whether Great Benefit had an obligation to pay. During closing argument, Rudy returned to the policy’s basic promise and the lack of proof that marrow transplantation was experimental, tying the written terms to the evidence of the treatment Donny Ray needed.

Significance

The policy’s force in the case came from the gap between a family’s understanding of full medical coverage and Great Benefit’s successive grounds for denial. Its omissions and exclusions were not abstract drafting details: they shaped whether the Blacks could obtain an expensive transplant, and whether Donny Ray’s medical claim would be paid. The later policy’s explicit marrow exclusion made that textual gap especially visible, even though the evidence did not establish exactly when the language changed.

As a trial object, the contract helped turn a complex insurance dispute into a comparison jurors could follow: what the original document excluded, what it left unnamed, and what Great Benefit added to a later version. Its significance rests in that contrast and in the consequences attached to it. The central question was whether the company could refuse treatment on a ground its own policy had not clearly stated.

Related StoryFlow