Readify

Donny Ray Black is unable to get a bone marrow transplant

The Rainmaker

Donny Ray Black’s inability to obtain a bone marrow transplant turns an insurance dispute into a question of life and death. His leukemia was detected in time for treatment, and his identical twin was an exact marrow match; the transplant could have saved his life. But his family could not afford it, despite holding insurance with Great Benefit Life Insurance Company, which refused the claim. Donny Ray’s worsening illness, the family’s efforts to secure care, and the company’s shifting explanations become the central evidence in the lawsuit that follows.

The Missed Chance for Treatment

When Donny Ray explains his circumstances to Rudy Baylor, he describes the difference between the chance he once had and the condition he has reached. Eleven months earlier, he weighed 160 pounds; now he weighs 110. He says the leukemia had been found early enough to treat and that his identical twin provided a perfect bone marrow match. The transplant would have saved his life, but the family could not pay for it.

The passage of time has changed the medical odds. Donny Ray estimates that he is eighty percent gone. Six months earlier, he says, he would have had a ninety percent chance of being cured. The figures make the lost opportunity painfully concrete: the treatment was not merely hypothetical, and the chance it offered had narrowed while the claim went unpaid. As Donny Ray speaks, he struggles for breath and briefly suffers a frightening episode. Rudy’s response marks a turning point in his relationship to the case: he stops seeing the Black family chiefly through its complications and accepts Donny Ray as a client who is counting on him.

A Family’s Effort to Secure Representation

The family’s difficulty extends beyond paying for treatment. To bring the lawsuit, all three clients must sign a legal-representation agreement. Buddy Black refuses to come inside, so Dot Black takes the papers out to him at the car. Donny Ray recalls an earlier attempt to have Buddy’s signature notarized: Buddy had been barely conscious, and the family’s watchful cat attacked the visiting notary, adding a doctor’s bill and the cost of replacing her pantyhose to the expense of getting the paperwork done.

The incident gives the legal formality a domestic, precarious setting. Dot returns with the contract bearing Buddy’s illegible signature, and she and Donny Ray sign it as well. Donny Ray then asks Rudy to use whatever the case brings to help his family, explaining that they have had a hard life. His request makes clear that the lawsuit matters to him not only as an effort to obtain treatment but also as a possible means of providing for those he will leave behind.

The Denials Become Evidence

At trial, Dot recounts the family’s attempts to find help. She contacted Great Benefit repeatedly, appealed to elected officials, approached local hospitals about free care, and organized friends and neighbors to raise money. Those efforts failed. She identifies the policy and its application, and describes the weekly visits of Bobby Ott, the agent who collected the premiums.

Dot reads the jury the first seven denial letters. Their stated grounds shift: some deny the claim without explanation; others send it between claims and underwriting for review; still others invoke a preexisting condition, Donny Ray’s status as an adult outside the household, lack of transplant coverage, or the claim that marrow transplantation is experimental. The accumulation of reasons turns the family’s repeated requests into a record of institutional evasion. The next letter, the insulting denial that becomes known as the Stupid Letter, leaves jurors visibly stunned when Dot reads it aloud and again at Rudy’s request.

Great Benefit’s defense emphasizes that the policy cost eighteen dollars a week and did not cover the transplant, arguing that the family seeks money it was not entitled to receive. The policy’s wording, however, does not specifically name bone marrow transplantation, while a newer policy version supplied during the case expressly excludes it. Dr. Walter Kord’s testimony supports the view that the procedure was not experimental, and the defense offers no contrary medical proof in the account of Rudy’s summation. The gap between the older policy’s language and the newer version sharpens the dispute over whether Great Benefit is interpreting coverage or relying on an omission.

From Personal Loss to a Public Case

Rudy files suit against Great Benefit Life Insurance Company and Bobby Ott, seeking $200,000 in actual damages and $10 million in punitive damages. At trial, Dot’s account and the denial letters make the consequences of the coverage decision legible as a family’s experience rather than an abstract disagreement over policy language. Donny Ray’s recorded testimony, edited to thirty-one minutes, is then played for the jury. The jurors watch his image on a screen; afterward, the courtroom remains quiet, and Dot weeps at the plaintiffs’ table.

Rudy’s closing argument connects Donny Ray’s missed treatment to evidence of Great Benefit’s broader conduct. Using testimony from Jackie Lemancyzk and company statistics, he puts figures about policies, claims, and denials on a chalkboard, arguing that the company’s decision-makers had instituted a one-year scheme to deny legitimate claims. Great Benefit’s lawyer offers $200,000 as a proposed measure of the family’s loss and urges the jury to treat a larger award as greed. Rudy answers that the offer does not address the company’s conduct, and reminds the jurors that Dot intends to give the money to the American Leukemia Society.

Donny Ray’s death, established in Dot’s testimony, makes the failed transplant irreversible: the treatment that might have saved him can no longer be provided, and the family’s day in court cannot restore the lost chance. The evidence cataloged here ends with the jury beginning its deliberations, not with a verdict. The event’s significance lies in the way a specific medical opportunity—a timely diagnosis and an identical-twin donor—meets a denied insurance claim, then becomes the organizing human fact through which the trial examines Great Benefit’s practices.