Donny Ray Black's Great Benefit insurance policy
The RainmakerDonny Ray Black's Great Benefit insurance policy is the central document in the dispute between the Black family and Great Benefit: it promised medical coverage that included a bone marrow transplant, yet the company refused to pay for Donny Ray's treatment. The conflict turns on the difference between what the policy covered and what Great Benefit did with the claim. As evidence of a broader denial practice emerged at trial, the policy became both the basis for the family's demand for treatment costs and a measure of the company's conduct.
Coverage and the transplant claim
The policy was a debit insurance policy, a comparatively inexpensive form of coverage sold to low-income customers through agents who collected premiums regularly. In explaining this kind of policy, Great Benefit's expert described a weekly premium of eighteen dollars and argued that such a policy could not reasonably be expected to cover a transplant costing two hundred thousand dollars. Rudy Baylor countered that the relevant question was not what the policy ought to cover in the abstract, but what its actual terms promised. The Black policy did not exclude bone marrow transplants when Donny Ray's claim was made.
The treatment at issue was especially consequential because Donny Ray had acute leukemia and a suitable donor. Medical testimony established that transplants were uncommon chiefly because finding a donor was difficult; a patient who found one had a substantially better chance of living. In closing, Baylor stressed that Great Benefit had offered no contrary medical proof and argued that the transplant was not experimental and probably would have saved Donny Ray's life. The policy's coverage therefore represented a concrete chance of treatment, not simply a disputed payment on paper.
How the claim was handled
Great Benefit claims handler Jackie Lemancyzk testified that the Black claim was initially denied under a company policy in force during 1991. Under that practice, all claims were first rejected, and claims above one thousand dollars were denied throughout a twelve-month experiment, regardless of their legitimacy. Some smaller claims were later paid, but large claims were generally paid only after an insured hired a lawyer and threatened suit. Lemancyzk said the experiment generated about forty million dollars in additional money for the company.
The Black claim was treated as a large, specially coded file. When the diagnosis of acute leukemia was noticed, Lemancyzk's work on it was monitored more closely. She testified that the department learned the policy did not exclude bone marrow transplants, while Donny Ray's medical records made clear that the leukemia would eventually be fatal without a transplant. Information about his prognosis passed from the handler to senior claims management, but the denial continued. Her account presented the unpaid policy benefit as a decision made despite knowledge of both the coverage and the medical stakes.
The company’s procedures also divided responsibility between claims and underwriting. Cooper Jackson described a process in which the handler first denied a claim, requested five years of medical records, and then sent the file to underwriting. Underwriting would instruct claims not to pay until further notice; further correspondence and review followed, but the two departments' instructions could leave the claim suspended between them. Jackson said the insured meanwhile received letters from both departments, a process that counted on many customers giving up before consulting a lawyer. The manuals he showed Baylor contained a Section U in both the claims and underwriting versions, spelling out complementary directions for this process. Baylor found that the versions produced to him in discovery lacked those sections, which he understood as deliberate concealment of instructions relevant to how claims like the Black claim were handled.
The policy at trial
Lemancyzk's testimony connected the individual claim to the wider 1991 practice: claims over one thousand dollars were to be denied for a year, and some smaller claims were also denied when the company could find an arguable reason. She testified that the scheme's financial logic was to compare the money saved through denials with the cost of quick settlements. In her account, Great Benefit knew that the Black policy did not exclude the transplant, yet continued to deny the claim after the company's employees understood the seriousness of Donny Ray's illness.
Great Benefit sought to portray its handling as permissible and its errors as limited. Its expert, Payton Reisky, argued that the size of the transplant expense was out of scale with a low-cost debit policy, and that the company's overall denial rate across ten years was slightly below twelve percent. The defense also relied on a version of the claims manual without the disputed section. But in closing, Leo F. Drummond acknowledged that the claim should have been paid, including the two hundred thousand dollars the transplant would have cost. That admission did not concede Baylor's argument for a substantial punitive award; Drummond instead urged the jury to regard the company's conduct as mistakes and to see a large award as unnecessary.
The policy's written terms also became important when Baylor questioned an executive about language later added to exclude bone marrow transplants. The witness could not say when the change had been made. Baylor argued that the new exclusion supported the conclusion that the earlier policy had not excluded the treatment. The timing remained uncertain in the testimony, but the contrast between the policy at the time of the claim and the later exclusion gave the dispute a documentary dimension: Great Benefit's own revised language could be read as evidence of what its earlier contract did not say.
Remedy and significance
In his closing argument, Baylor used the policy's two-hundred-thousand-dollar treatment cost to establish the immediate value of the denied benefit, then distinguished that amount from the question of how a wealthy company should be punished for its conduct. He put Great Benefit's available cash, reserves, and undistributed surpluses on a chalkboard, totaling four hundred seventy-five million dollars, alongside its admitted net worth of four hundred fifty million. He argued that a punitive award had to matter to a corporation of that scale, while leaving the amount to the jury rather than fixing it at the ten million dollars sought in the lawsuit.
Drummond offered a different use for the same two-hundred-thousand-dollar figure. He contrasted it with the Blacks' monthly income of seven hundred forty-six dollars and suggested that investing the money in tax-free bonds could provide them with one thousand dollars a month. His proposal framed payment as a financial improvement to an ordinary family; Baylor's closing had asked the jury to remember that the benefit was supposed to secure treatment for Donny Ray. The policy thus stood at the intersection of contract, medical need, and corporate accountability: its promised coverage defined the family's claim, while the refusal to honor it opened the larger question of whether denying legitimate claims could be made profitable.