Great Benefit health insurance policy
The RainmakerThe Great Benefit health insurance policy is the contract at the center of the Black family’s effort to secure treatment for Donny Ray Black. Its importance lies in the gap between the protection the family believed it had bought and the protection Great Benefit was willing to honor: the policy appeared to cover a bone marrow transplant, but the company issued repeated denials while Donny Ray’s condition worsened. The document becomes both a promise of medical security and the evidence through which Rudy Baylor begins to challenge an insurer’s conduct.
Purchase and Structure
Dot Black and Buddy Black bought the medical policy from Great Benefit Life Insurance Company about five years before Rudy reviewed it, when their twin sons were seventeen. It covered two dependents, Donny Ray Black and Ronny Ray Black, whose birth dates were the same. Dot said the family had never missed a premium and had not made use of the coverage before Donny Ray became ill.
The policy was sold through a door-to-door agent identified as Bobby Ott. Dot remembered him as a fast-talking salesman and said she had tried to locate him after the dispute began, without success. When Rudy later examined the family’s papers, he found a debit book recording weekly payments and learned that Bobby Ott had apparently visited the Blacks each week to collect them. The policy cost eighteen dollars a week, a payment routine that made this insurance an ongoing household obligation rather than an occasional transaction.
This sales and payment method was part of what Max Leuberg described as debit insurance, sometimes called street insurance: inexpensive policies sold to lower-income households by agents who collected premiums regularly at customers’ homes. Leuberg said companies in this market often denied claims and faced relatively few lawsuits, in part because people with limited resources could be wary of lawyers and the legal system. The Black family’s policy therefore carries a significance beyond its printed terms: its value depended on whether a family with little ability to absorb medical costs could make the company honor them.
The Coverage Dispute
Donny Ray was diagnosed with acute leukemia about eight months before Dot first brought the policy and claim papers to Rudy. His doctors considered a bone marrow transplant necessary, and his identical twin, Ronny Ray, was a suitable donor. The procedure was estimated to cost about $150,000, far beyond what the family could pay themselves. Dot understood the transplant to be covered by the policy and said the contract contained no exclusion for it.
Great Benefit’s explanations changed across its correspondence. Dot and Rudy encountered denials based on the claim that Donny Ray was an adult and no longer covered under his parents’ policy, on the assertion that leukemia was a preexisting condition, and on the position that leukemia or the requested treatment was not covered. Dot maintained that the policy did not terminate a child’s coverage upon adulthood and that she had read the fine print repeatedly. The diagnosis, she said, came years after the policy was issued, not before it.
The company had denied the claim in writing seven times before sending an eighth letter that called the Black family stupid. Rudy found the letter especially striking because it bore Great Benefit’s formal logo while expressing open contempt for the people making the claim. The repeated denials were not merely a dispute over how to interpret one clause: they made the policy’s promise difficult to distinguish from a series of obstacles imposed after the family needed it.
From Paper Contract to Medical Consequence
The policy was not an abstract document to Donny Ray’s doctors. Dr. Walter Kord testified that when Donny Ray first came to his office, the family reported coverage under a Great Benefit medical policy. The staff checked with the company and verified that a policy existed, so treatment proceeded. Great Benefit later refused payment on several grounds. Six months afterward, the medical bill was written off, while Dot paid fifty dollars a month toward it.
Dr. Kord explained that Donny Ray received initial treatment for his leukemia, but that the disease would be expected to return without a transplant. Ronny Ray’s status as an identical twin made him a suitable donor, and Dr. Kord testified that the transplant could have been performed and would have offered a greatly improved chance of survival. In this account, the policy’s disputed coverage connects directly to a medical option the family could not finance alone. The clinical possibility remained, but the denied insurance claim prevented the family from obtaining the treatment it sought.
By the time Rudy visited the family home in late September, Donny Ray was gravely ill and too weak to speak on the phone. The policy had been in force, according to the family, while the treatment they believed it covered remained out of reach. Rudy regarded the contract as establishing Great Benefit’s obligation, and Donny Ray’s condition made the consequence of delay impossible to treat as a paperwork problem alone.
Investigation and Legal Significance
Rudy first encountered the policy among Dot’s worn papers while he was still a law student. He planned to review it, consult others, and give the family an advisory letter rather than take the case himself. But the repeated explanations for denial and the insulting eighth letter prompted him to seek Max Leuberg’s assessment. Leuberg reviewed the policy and claim file, called the matter worth investigating, and emphasized both the importance of confirming the family’s account and the difficulty of winning punitive damages in Tennessee.
As Rudy continued examining the claim, the policy became the organizing document for a larger inquiry into Great Benefit’s handling of the case. Its pages, payment records, medical reports, and denial letters allowed him to compare what the family had paid, what treatment had been contemplated, and what reasons the company gave for refusing payment. The same contract that had once represented household protection became the basis for investigating whether the insurer had denied a covered claim.
The policy’s narrative force comes from this reversal. It is specific enough to record premiums and promised coverage, yet its practical meaning is contested by a company capable of issuing one denial after another. Against that institutional power stand the Black family’s payment history, Dot’s close reading of the contract, and the medical evidence concerning Donny Ray and his twin. The case begins with a policy the family believed would help in a crisis; its repeated refusal becomes the reason Rudy turns from a student’s preliminary review toward a serious legal fight.

