Great Benefit's Annual Claim-Denial Plan
The RainmakerGreat Benefit's Annual Claim-Denial Plan was a deliberate, year-long effort to hold back insurance payments, not merely a collection of mistakes in individual claim files. Beginning January 1, 1991, Great Benefit denied every claim over $1,000 for twelve months, even when the claim was legitimate. In the trial of the Black family’s case, former claims handler Jackie Lemancyzk described the policy as an experiment that brought the company approximately $40 million in additional revenue. Its method depended on both financial incentives and an administrative process designed to make policyholders wait, give up, or seek legal help before a payment became possible.
Design and Economic Rationale
The plan operated in a market where many policyholders had little money and limited confidence in the legal system. Max Leuberg explains that debit insurance, sometimes called street insurance, consisted of inexpensive policies sold door to door to low-income customers, with agents returning regularly to collect premiums. He says that only about one in thirty bad-faith denials reached court. In her testimony, Lemancyzk describes the company’s estimate somewhat differently: management believed no more than one in twenty-five denied policyholders would consult a lawyer. The figures express the same strategic assumption—that most customers would not challenge a refusal.
For Great Benefit, that assumption made blanket denials financially attractive. Under Lemancyzk’s account, all claims over $1,000 were denied during the experiment, while smaller claims could also be refused if the company could find an arguable reason. Some smaller claims were later paid, but larger claims generally remained unpaid unless an insured hired a lawyer and threatened action. She testified that management treated the year’s savings as a pool from which to subtract quick court settlements, leaving the balance as profit. The plan thus converted the likelihood that customers would abandon claims into an expected corporate gain.
The broader litigation context helps explain why that calculation could seem favorable to an insurer. Leuberg describes cases in which a customer had clearly covered medical bills but faced a company worth hundreds of millions of dollars. A jury might reimburse the bills and add only a modest punitive award, rather than impose a penalty large enough to alter the company’s behavior. The Annual Claim-Denial Plan took advantage of the gap between the cost of a denied claim and the lower probability, and uncertain size, of a legal remedy.
How the Denial Process Worked
The plan’s everyday machinery distributed decisions across claims and underwriting. Cooper Jackson describes a sequence in which a handler first denied a claim, then requested five years of medical records. The policyholder might receive another notice that the claim remained under review. The file then went to underwriting, which could instruct claims not to pay until further notice; correspondence passed between the departments while the insured received letters from both. Because each department waited on the other, the process could continue without producing a decision that released payment.
This division of work did not mean the departments belonged to separate companies: both operated within Great Benefit. Jackson describes them as departments whose employees often knew little about one another’s work, while emphasizing that their separation was intentional. He also recounts finding parallel Section U instructions in the claims and underwriting manuals: each department was to deny pending review, send the file across, and wait for further direction that never arrived. The manuals also prescribed documentation of the steps, creating a paper record that could make the handling appear careful even as the claim remained unpaid. The copies supplied to Rudy Baylor in discovery lacked Section U; Jackson’s complete copies revealed the omitted instructions.
The company’s structure placed implementation with claims handlers and underwriting staff while senior managers oversaw the departments. Everett Lufkin, Great Benefit’s vice president of claims, testified about his responsibility for the claims division. When Baylor asked whether Section U had been removed from a manual given in discovery, Kermit Aldy, vice president of underwriting, eventually acknowledged that the section was missing. Baylor then produced the complete manual, exposing the difference between the account of routine checks and balances Aldy had given and the text of the withheld section. The departmental handoffs did not erase the policy behind them: Lemancyzk testified that initial denials were company policy and that the larger claims were not paid unless a lawyer became involved.
The Black Claim as a Test Case
The Black family’s claim showed how the experiment affected a specific insured. Lemancyzk testified that the claim was initially denied like the others, but its diagnosis of acute leukemia made it a closely monitored file. The policy did not exclude bone marrow transplants. According to her testimony, once the company recognized the potential expense, Russell Krokit supervised her handling of the claim; she passed medical information to Krokit, who in turn showed it to Lufkin. The records indicated that Donny Ray Black’s leukemia would return and ultimately be fatal without a transplant. Lemancyzk said the company knew the claim should be paid, yet the denial continued because Great Benefit was calculating the chance that the family would consult a lawyer.
Her account also described the routes a claim might take after an attorney intervened. She said legitimate claims under $5,000 were paid promptly, while larger claims went to a supervisor and were almost always paid; when a lawsuit had been filed or appeared imminent, Great Benefit negotiated confidential settlements. This practice did not undo the initial refusals. It made legal pressure the point at which a customer’s prospects changed, while allowing the company to limit what a contested claim cost and to keep settlements out of public view.
Exposure in Court and Significance
Baylor assembled the plan for the jury from testimony, records, and manuals rather than asking them to treat the Black family’s dispute as an isolated paperwork error. Lemancyzk testified that the policy began on January 1, 1991, lasted a year, and produced roughly $40 million. She connected Great Benefit’s general rule to the Black file and to the medical evidence concerning Donny Ray. Her testimony made visible the distance between the company’s formal language of review and the practical effect of withholding payment from a terminally ill policyholder.
Baylor’s presentation also contrasted the denial scheme with the company’s capacity to absorb a meaningful penalty. In closing, he put Great Benefit’s cash, reserves, and undistributed surpluses at $475 million, alongside its admitted net worth of $450 million. He used the figures to argue that a punishment should be large enough to affect a wealthy company’s conduct, rather than merely return an amount it could treat as a routine cost. The argument reframed the plan’s $40 million gain as a question of incentives: if the likely consequences of systematic denials remained small, the business calculation that supported them could persist.
The plan’s exposure changes the meaning of the letters and delays in the Black case. What might appear individually to be a disputed exclusion, an incomplete review, or a misplaced file becomes part of a policy that Lemancyzk said applied across claims for a defined twelve-month period. The missing manual sections further connect the routine paperwork to a coordinated process. In the trial, the plan is therefore both the explanation for why Donny Ray’s claim remained unpaid and the evidence through which a family’s struggle reveals the company’s larger financial strategy.
